top of page
Pfeffingen WineList EN

Ungstein Scheurebe SP*

The grape variety:

As a cross between Riesling and a wild vine, the Scheurebe grape variety was developed in 1916 by Dr. Georg Scheu bred in Alzey. Its special advantages in dessert winemaking (attractive bouquet, late ripening, good acid structure) led to the grape variety spreading rapidly both nationally and internationally. The Pfeffingen winery has been committed to the Scheurebe for more than 50 years. Alongside Riesling, it is the most important grape variety.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The floor:

The Scheurebe vineyard in the Pfeffingen family is located in an absolute top location, the Ungsteiner Herrenberg. The grape variety was planted there quite consciously, since the high demands placed on the site and soil are well known. Only really very good locations, with a southern exposure and a strong, well-supplied soil ensure the optimal ripeness of the grapes.

 

The wine:

The selected, fully ripe grapes are carefully sorted by hand at different stages of ripeness (so-called staggered harvest), ground and left to stand on the mash for a few hours. As a result, the aromatic substances are optimally released. Inspired by the great white wines of the Loire, the must is fermented in new barriques (French and American oak).

A fine currant and mint aroma beguiles the senses with this wine. The aromas of vanilla and toasted notes, which are characterized by the wooden barrel, complement this perfectly. The fresh yet powerful nature of the wine caresses the palate and contributes to a perfect overall picture.

"Best Scheurebe on planet!"

Paul Grieco, New York

  • Fish dishes

  • Asian dishes

  • Strong cheese

  • Drinking temperature: 10-12 °C

Download current expertise as PDF.

*Selection Pfeffingen

bottom of page

Ungstein Scheurebe SP*

Die Rebsorte:

Als Kreuzung aus Riesling und einer Wildrebe wurde die Rebsorte Scheurebe 1916 von Dr. Georg Scheu in Alzey gezüchtet. Ihre besonderen Vorzüge in der Dessertwein- bereitung (attraktives Bukett, späte Reife, gute Säurestruktur) führten zu einer schnellen nationalen wie auch internationalen Verbreitung der Rebsorte. Im Weingut Pfeffingen hat man sich der Scheurebe seit mehr als 50 Jahren verschrieben. Sie ist neben dem Riesling die wichtigste Rebsorte.

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Der Boden:

Der Scheurebe-Weinberg im Hause Pfeffingen befindet sich in einer absoluten Spitzenlage, dem Ungsteiner Herrenberg. Ganz bewußt wurde die Rebsorte dort gepflanzt, weiß man doch über die hohen Ansprüche an Lage und Boden. Nur wirklich sehr gute Lagen, mit einer Süd-Exposition und einem kräftigen, gutversorgten Boden gewährleisten die optimale Reife der Trauben.

 

Der Wein:

Die ausgewählten, vollreifen Trauben werden sorgsam zu unterschiedlichen Reifestadien von Hand verlesen (sog. gestaffelte Lese), gemahlen und für einige Stunden auf der Maische stehen gelassen. Dadurch werden die Aromastoffe optimal freigesetzt. Inspiriert von den großen Weißweinen der Loire wird der Most in neuen Barriquefässern (französische und amerikanische Eiche) vergoren. 

Eine feine Johannisbeer- und Minzearomatik betört bei diesem Wein die Sinne. Die vom Holzfass geprägten Aromen von Vanille und Röstnoten gesellen sich ideal dazu. Die frische und dennoch kraftvolle Art des Weines umschmeichelt den Gaumen und trägt zu einem vollendeten Gesamtbild bei. 

"Best Scheurebe on planet!"

Paul Grieco, New York

  • Fischgerichte

  • Asiatische Gerichte

  • Kräftiger Käse

  • Trinktemperatur: 10-12 °C

Aktuelle Expertise als PDF herunterladen.

*Selektion Pfeffingen

© 2016 Weingut Pfeffingen, Bad Dürkheim 

  • Instagram - Schwarzer Kreis
  • Facebook - Black Circle