top of page
Pfeffingen WineList EN

Herrenberg Riesling GG*

The location:

The Herrenberg is one of the most famous and best locations in Mittelhaardt. Its special climatic position is based on the south-east orientation of the vineyards. In addition, it is located on the slopes of a hill parallel to the Palatinate Forest, which means that it escapes any influence of cold air. Perhaps the most interesting plot in Herrenberg is the "Mardelskopf". This ecological niche is protected by sandstone walls and hedges, which contribute to a very favorable microclimate. Thanks to this, Riesling grapes of the highest quality ripen here. "Mardelskopf" is an old cadastral name and refers to a wayside cross that used to be at this point. "Mardel" stands for the wayside cross and "head" means an elevation in the vineyard where the cross was located.

 

The floor:

In contrast to the Buntsandstein that is otherwise predominant on the Mittelhaardt, the Herrenberg soil consists of limestone with a loess-clay layer. This makes the wines from such a location unmistakable: mineral freshness, charming fruit play and a full body ensure the wines have a particularly long life.

 

The wine:

HERRENBERG Riesling GG has a delicate scent of apricots and peaches. On the palate, the wine is complex and powerful and demonstrates the typical Herrenberg minerality. The great complexity of aromas and the incredible length on the palate are signs of a truly great wine.

  • Drinking temperature: 10-12 °C

Download current expertise as PDF.

*"Großes Gewächs" according to estate classification

bottom of page

Herrenberg Riesling GG*

Die Lage:

Der Herrenberg zählt zu den berühmtesten und besten Lagen der Mittelhaardt. Seine besondere klimatische Stellung beruht auf der Südost-Ausrichtung der Weinberge. Darüberhinaus befindet er sich an den Hängen eines – zum Pfälzer Wald parallelen – Hügels, wodurch er sich jeglichen Kaltlufteinflusses entzieht. Die vielleicht interessanteste Parzelle im Herrenberg ist der „Mardelskopf“. Diese ökologische Nische wird geschützt durch Sandsteinmauern und Hecken, welche zu einem sehr günstigen Kleinklima beitragen. Dank diesem reifen hier Riesling-Trauben von höchster Qualität. „Mardelskopf“ ist eine alte Katasterbezeichnung und bezieht sich auf ein an dieser Stelle früher befindliches Wegkreuz. „Mardel“ steht hierbei für das Wegkreuz und „Kopf“ meint eine Erhebung im Weinberg an der das Kreuz sich befand.

 

Der Boden:

Im Gegensatz zum sonst an der Mittelhaardt vorherrschenden Buntsandstein besteht der Boden des Herrenberg aus Kalkstein mit einer Löß-Lehm-Auflage. Dies macht die Weine aus einer solchen Lage unverwechselbar: mineralische Frische, charmantes Fruchtspiel und ein charaktervoller Körper sorgen für besondere Langlebigkeit der Weine.

 

Der Wein:

Das HERRENBERG Riesling GG hat einen feinen Duft nach Aprikosen und Pfirsichen. Am Gaumen zeigt der Wein sich komplex und kraftvoll und demonstriert die typische Herrenberg-Mineralik. Die große Vielschichtigkeit von Aromen sowie die unglaubliche Länge am Gaumen sind Zeichen eines wahrhaft großen Weines.

  • Trinktemperatur: 10-12 °C

Aktuelle Expertise als PDF herunterladen.

*„Großes Gewächs" gemäß gutseigener Klassifikation

© 2020 Weingut Pfeffingen, Bad Dürkheim 

  • Instagram - Schwarzer Kreis
  • Facebook - Black Circle