top of page
Pfeffingen WineList EN

Ungstein

Chardonnay SP* trocken

The vineyard:

A special vine selection from particularly good Chardonnay vineyards in France and Italy formed the basis for this extraordinary vineyard. In the meantime, the vines are over 30 years old and yields are low enough to produce the desired high qualities.

 

The floor:

In contrast to the red sandstone that is predominant in the Palatinate, the soil of this vineyard consists of loess loam with a high limestone content. This makes the wines unmistakable: minerality, charming fruity play and a strong body ensure the wines have a particularly long life. All in all, an ideal soil for great Burgundy wines.

 

The wine:

Only selected, highly aromatic grapes are used for this Chardonnay. The grapes are carefully picked by hand, gently pressed and fermented in a large wooden barrel (1,200 liters, so-called piece barrel) made of Palatinate oak. Following the alcoholic fermentation, the wine goes through a so-called malolactic fermentation. This and several months of storage on the yeast ("sur lie") give the Chardonnay SP its particularly elegant, harmonious character.
The scent is dominated by fruity aromas such as passion fruit and pear, accompanied by fine roasted aromas. A harmonious, dense wine with a nice creaminess and balance. A great meal companion!

  • Light venison dishes with cream sauces/lingonberries

  • Strong Asian dishes

  • Roasted poultry (duck, poularde) with mushroom sauces

  • Drinking temperature: 10-12 °C

Download current expertise as PDF.

*Selection Pfeffingen

bottom of page

Ungstein

Chardonnay SP* trocken

Der Weinberg:

Eine spezielle Rebenselektion aus besonders guten Chardonnay-Weinbergen in Frankreich und Italien bildete die Grundlage für diesen außergewöhnlichen Weinberg. In der Zwischenzeit sind die Rebstöcke über 30 Jahre alt und die Erträge niedrig genug, um die erwünschten hohen Qualitäten zu erzeugen.

 

Der Boden:

Im Gegensatz zum in der Pfalz vorherrschenden Buntsandstein besteht der Boden dieses Weinbergs aus Löß-Lehm mit hohem Kalksteingehalt. Dies macht die Weine unverwechselbar: Mineralität, charmantes Fruchtspiel und ein kräftiger Körper sorgen für besondere Langlebigkeit der Weine. Alles in allem ein idealer Boden für große Burgunderweine.

 

Der Wein:

Für diesen Chardonnay finden nur ausgewählte, hocharomatische Trauben Verwendung. Die Trauben werden sorgsam von Hand gelesen, schonend gepresst und gezügelt in einem großen Holzfass (1.200 Liter, sog. Stückfass) aus Pfälzer Eiche vergoren. Im Anschluss an die alkoholische Gärung macht der Wein einen sog. biologischen Säureabbau. Dadurch und durch eine über mehrere Monate hinweg gezogene Lagerung auf der Hefe („sur lie“) erhält der Chardonnay SP seine besonders elegante, harmonische Art.
Im Duft dominieren fruchtige Aromen, wie Maracuja und Birne, begleitet von feinen Röstaromen. Ein harmonisch, dichter Wein mit einer schönen Cremigkeit und Balance. Ein toller Essensbegleiter!

  • Leichte Wildgerichte mit Sahnesoßen/Preiselbeeren

  • Kräftige asiatische Gerichte

  • Gebratenes Geflügel (Ente, Poularde) mit Pilzsoßen

  • Trinktemperatur: 10-12 °C

Aktuelle Expertise als PDF herunterladen.

*Selektion Pfeffingen

© 2016 Weingut Pfeffingen, Bad Dürkheim 

  • Instagram - Schwarzer Kreis
  • Facebook - Black Circle